Parochial Church Council

What is the Parochial Church Council?

Parochial Church Councils (PCCs) are responsible for supporting the local clergy in the running and management of their benefice or parish. Their primary function is stated as ‘promoting in the parish the whole mission of the Church’.

An Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) is usually held in April, and appoints the church wardens and members of the PCC. They, too, have powers and responsibilities under the Synodical Government Measure 1969.

The Parish of the Claydons PCC is the governing body of the three parish churches (St Michael’s, St Mary’s and All Saints), Café Church in Calvert Green and Parish Newsletter.

The PCC is a team made up of members of clergy and lay members of the church. Together they are responsible for the overall wellbeing, practical as well as spiritual, church members, Parish Newsletter, and church buildings.

The PCC also has a duty to promote the mission of the church within the wider community.

))Who is on the PCC?

Members of the PCC are elected each year at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting. Once elected, they usually serve a minimum of three years and may stand for re-election at the end of that term. If you would like to be nominated for the PCC, please contact the PCC Secretary, Linda O’Dell.


The current members of the PCC are:


  • Reverend Rickey Simpson-Gray – Chair
  • Sir Edmund Verney – Patron
  • Betty Picknell
  • Carol Deans
  • Dave Martin
  • Elspeth O’Halloran
  • Esther Turnbull
  • Heather Aris
  • Kate Smith
  • Nicolette Pike – Honourable Member
  • Olivia Riches
  • Philip Gardner
  • Serena Aldous
  • Geoff Strutt
  • Steve Dobbs
  • Spencer Fishman – Safeguarding Link Officer
  • Stephen Lee (Treasurer)
  • Linda O’Dell (PCC Secretary / Electoral Roll)
  • Becky Mullis – PCC Minutes Secretary